Back to Top

Regional: Microdata Dissemination Policy Workshop (May 2014)

Country / Regional Activity: Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Senegal, Niger
Date of Event: 22/05/2014

The ADP held a workshop in Paris, France from May 22-23 at the OECD conference center. The workshop was promoted under the Stat-3 series of workshops that will focus on: microdata dissemination policy development; microdata quality; responding to user demand for microdata. These workshops are designed to be short and focused discussions targeting decision makers at the country level. The countries represent a regional group that are in different stages in the process of developing systematic approaches to developing microdata dissemination policies; improving microdata quality and having well managed approaches to responding to user demands.

Five (5) representatives from statistical offices in countries from Francophone Africa were invited to attend the workshop. These included: Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal and Niger. Senegal already has a microdata dissemination policy in place. In addition to primary data producers, several users of microdata also attended. These included user institutions such as IFORD in Cameroon and the ENSEA in Abidjan. The University Abdou Moumouni in Niger also attended. Representatives from the regional organizations of AFRISTAT and the AfDB co-facilitated the workshop.

The workshop began with a presentation from the French statistical agency, INSEE. A presentation on the legal aspects of microdata dissemination was provided by the Head of the Legal Unit of the INSEE. He reviewed the evolution of the statistical law and its application to microdata dissemination. This was followed by presentations given by users of microdata and then a response by the country representatives of the statistical agencies. Country specific work groups defined key areas for further development. The end result was to define a roadmap for developing responsive data dissemination policies for each country.

Pictured here:

Front Row: Julienne AITCHEDJI (Niger), El Iza MOHAMEDOU (PARIS21), Leslie RAE (PARIS21)

Second Row: Mamadou NIANG (Senegal), Harouna KONE (Mali), Martin MBA (Cameroon), Nafiou MALAM MAMAN (Niger), M. Kouassi Jean De Dieu KOFFI (Côte d’Ivoire), Evina AKAM (IFORD), M. Joseph TEDOU (Cameroon)

Third Row: M. Slaheddine SAIDI (AfDB), Ibrahima SOUMAILA (Niger), Freeman Komi Akolly AMEGASHIE (AFRISTAT), Philippe Ngango GAFISHI (PARIS21), El H. Malick GUEYE (Senegal), Mahesh SUBEDI (PARIS21)

Fourth Row: Koffi ZOUGBEDE (PARIS21), Ernie BOYKO (PARIS21), Paul-Henri WIRRANKOSKI (PARIS21), Rudy PETRAS (PARIS21), Mady Dansokho (Senegal), Geoffrey GREENWELL (PARIS21), Kouassi Hugues KOUADIO (ENSEA)